Uncategorized

New Beginnings Tablescape

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

Hello, my sweet friends!

How are you?!  How was your holiday season?  I hope you were able to find joy and peace in the midst of it all.

I admit, I struggled big time this year with not getting caught up in the busy.  So many things to do and plan for shifted my focus and left me drained.

The new year brought promise of a fresh start that I was desperately seeking.  Coming out of a season of abundance, I craved simplicity.  In all areas of my life I was feeling led to strip everything down to bare bones and start over.

Let’s start from square one.

My decor in my home has definitely reflected this.  It’s turned toward a more minimalistic and fresh feel.  Simple wood, fresh green, and crisp white have taken over and is a constant visual reminder for me of my word over 2017- SIMPLICITY.  In all areas- let’s keep it simple.  I feel like if I can grasp this concept, it will keep my mind focused on what’s most important in life.  It will help align my priorities, and hopefully, keep me from my enemy- busy.

Today I wanted to share my dining room tablescape with you for this season.  I think it reflects exactly what I am trying to achieve all over, and what better place to start than at the heart of my home.

I tried keeping the overall look clean and uncluttered.  Chairs are minimally decorated with basic sturdy textured burlap pillows and the settings are simplistic with gold chargers and milk colored plates.  Place mats, flat ware and glass ware are removed to give space.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

A small trimming of seeded eucalyptus leaf on the end settings pulls the table together with the center display.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

 

To keep the tablescape grounded, I added a simple linen runner.  I allowed for it to stay imperfect and slightly wrinkled for a relaxed feel and to add a fabric texture to the table similar to the chair pillows.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

For the decorative pieces I started with simple, natural wood candlesticks.  I think it gives a clean, rustic, supportive detail.  The already used wax candles have small wax drippings to again give a relaxing and calming effect- a little bit of cozy since we are still in winter.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

Speaking of winter, the season was the inspiration for adding these white, chippy, vintage inspired corbels.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

They give a weathered season appropriate feel to the table and help to support the main character.  If you would like some of your own, I offer them in my Etsy shop which you can find here.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

Now the centerpiece is a large, white, ceramic vase with a circular pattern I purchased as a pair from Z Gallerie years ago.  They have made a home in our bedroom since that time, but I thought bringing one to the the table would be the perfect addition to this simple tablescape.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

The natural wood bead garland mimics the vase pattern, gives an interesting detail, and pulls in the natural wood candlesticks.  If interested, you can find the wood bead garland in my Etsy shop here.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

Can we just stop and talk about how nice it is that the Pantone color of the year is greenery?

They describe their choice of 2017 as,

“A refreshing and revitalizing shade, Greenery is symbolic of new beginnings. Greenery is a fresh and zesty yellow-green shade that evokes the first days of spring when nature’s greens revive, restore and renew. Illustrative of flourishing foliage and the lushness of the great outdoors, the fortifying attributes of Greenery signals consumers to take a deep breath, oxygenate and reinvigorate.

Greenery is nature’s neutral. The more submerged people are in modern life, the greater their innate craving to immerse themselves in the physical beauty and inherent unity of the natural world.”

YES.  YES PLEASE.

So, in the spirit of new beginnings, I decided to use seeded eucalyptus.

To me it brings that fresh start, clean slate feel I have right now.  Plus it’s just a gorgeous leafy plant to look at!

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

The table as a whole, though simple, is interesting.  Different textures and materials entertain the eye, while soothing tones and recurring circular, curvy shapes work together to develop an invigorating but relaxed display.

I think the key to any decor space is to have a balance of unity and interest.  Having similar tones and shapes in the circular, curvy pattern throughout this tablescape, from the leaves, to the vase, to the corbels, candlesticks and curvy plates, all add to the feel of cohesion.  BUT because the pieces are similar in shape and tone, to keep it interesting you add texture.  Greenery, ceramic, wood, glass, metal, fabric- all play off one another enhancing the look of this table.

Here are a few more shots of this simplistic tablescape:

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

A few suggestions if you want to try a similar tablescape:

For more: Add vintage books between the corbels and the vase, gold rimmed stemware and gold flatware, textured green placemats, and wood soup bowls.

For less:  Remove either candlesticks or corbels, or even both.

tablescape, fresh tablescape, new year decor, simplictic decor, minimalistic decor, fresh and clean decor, white tablescape

I hope this tablescape not only inspires you to create your own, but helps to allow yourself a fresh start in this new year.

As always, thank you so so much for stopping by.

 

Love,

 

Katie

xoxo

One thought on “New Beginnings Tablescape

Leave a Reply

