Uncategorized

Rustic Chandelier Makeover

 

chandelier, chandelier makeover, chandelier DIY

Hello, sweet friends!

I hope you have had a great first half of the week! Are you ready for Halloween?! I think that’s when the holiday season really starts for me!

That also means Christmas isn’t too far off, and though I start buying presents toward the end of summer, I still like to cut corners and save where I can to make the holidays as stress free, and family focused as possible!

The decorator in me is always imagining new ways to freshen up our home but with stricter budgets these next couple of months, I need to be super creative!

We have slowly been making our current house a home for the past two years, and while we have tackled many projects, there are still many left on our list.  One of our major projects is our kitchen/dining room area.  With our home being open concept, we really want to ensure the space is kept light, open, and welcoming.

The chandelier above the dining table has been on our list since the beginning, and the plan was to replace it completely.  Well, our focus has been on other areas of the home (including painting our kitchen cabinets white- post coming soon!), and it’s not in the budget right now.  Every day that I see it, however, I notice how much darkness it brings to the area.  It got to the point I was making faces at it whenever I would pass by!  To prove how much I disliked the chandelier, I tried finding a good photo of a before, and realized in all my pictures of my dining room I purposefully left it out!  This is the best I could find:

 

img_0074

I LOVE re purposing and redoing what we already own, I  think it’s smart, and we are already abundantly blessed- let’s use what we have!

I decided to give our dark, plain chandelier a face lift.

Hubby was kind enough to take it down for me- I don’t mess with wires, people!

img_0070

 

I wiped it down (it was so embarrassingly covered in dust) and took off the glass shades and light bulbs.  Off to the garage I went!

Now I have been dreaming of a white, distressed, rustic, farmhouse chandelier for awhile.  It went with the wood chippy dining room table and chairs I redid- so that’s what I set out to do!

I decided to use spray paint to get an even coat all over and also because it’s fast drying!  Plus I already had some on hand from a mirror I redid, so bonus- it was no cost!

The kind I used was Rust-Oleum Chalked Ultra Matte Paint in Linen White (spray paint) which I had purchased at Home Depot for under $7:

linenwhite_large

 

I have used this product numerous times on numerous projects and surfaces and am always pleased by the results!  Make sure you are in a well ventilated area, the ground you are working on is covered, and preferably, wear a mask before starting on your project.

I first applied a thin coat and allowed it to fully dry.  This product dries fairly quick, so in about an hour I was adding another coat.  A few hours later I detailed and sprayed areas I thought looked patchy.  When working with spray paint, doing thin coats and allowing them to dry completely prevents thick areas and paint drips.

img_0072

I had some things going on that night, so I put the project aside for the next day.

All that was left was to distress!  I used an 80-grit piece of sandpaper and rubbed around all the edges of the chandelier.  I picked random places to scuff up a bit more and decided on a medium level of distressing for this project.

img_0088

I LOVE how it came out!

img_0086

After putting it back together, Mike hung it back up and instantly you could see such a difference in the room!  So much lighter!

img_0084

 

Even my little guy agrees 😉 :

img_0081

I had been making some wooden bead garland I have seen popping up here and there in home decor and thought it would look so cool in this new, distressed, rustic chandelier- it was a good choice!

img_0020

 

I’m so glad I was able to finish this in time to host Thanksgiving in a few weeks (make sure to check back next week for a super fun Thanksgiving tablescape blog hop!!!)!

Here are a few more closeups of the finished product!

 

img_0080

img_0079

img_0077

 

I am in love!!!

I did want to let you know I did not seal the chandelier with anything because I just didn’t think it was needed.  It’s an object that will be left basically untouched, so I felt it was an extra, unnecessary step.

Also, if you are interested in purchasing the wooden bead garland for your home decor, I have them available in my Etsy shop, jars of clay co.  They can be found here!  I love how versatile this garland is:
wooden bead garland, wood bead garland, garland

wooden bead garland, wood bead garland, garland

wooden bead garland, wood bead garland, garland

There you have it!  A quick, easy, and CHEAP decor redo with a major impact!

 

As always thanks for stopping by and spending time with me!  I hope this inspires you to refinish some items you already own!  I would love to hear about some of your favorite projects that you have redone in your home to give them a fresh, new look- leave your stories in the comments below!

 

See you next week, sweet friends!

 

xoxo

 

Katie

Leave a Reply

