Uncategorized

Papa’s Roasted Chicken

I love a good Sunday dinner.

It’s usually the biggest meal I make each week, and the one I don’t worry so much about being healthy as much as I want it to be comforting.

No restrictions for a Sunday dinner- USE ALL THE BUTTER.

This Sunday I decided to make a roasted chicken.  Not just any roasted chicken, but one based on my dad’s beer roasted recipe.  His roasted chicken is so good the family actually requests it as their birthday meal as opposed to going out to a restaurant.  I mean it is tender, juicy, flavorful, and IF there is any leftover, it makes a great chicken salad.

The star ingredients are a staple in any good Hispanic household- Sazon and Adobo.

sazon.adobo

You can probably bet on 85% of my meals including Adobo.  Chicken, steaks, soups, meatballs, lasagna- put it on all the foods. I almost feel like things don’t taste right without it.  This can’t just be me.

Now you can certainly still make this without Sazon and Adobo, but quite honestly you would be missing out so bad, friend.  Why would you do that to yourself?  Deprivation is not a good thing, especially not for Sunday dinner.

ALSO- these two ingredients take your chicken from meh, to Ina Gartner chicken in a hot second. I am serious (is it just me or does everything that woman makes look like the absolute best that dish could possibly ever hope to be?).

So the recipe just calls for a chicken (I usually use a 4-5lber, and I prefer Costco whole chickens), a can of beer- any one laying around in the back of the fridge will do.  This time I used a Miller Light can we had left over from when my grandmother was in town- she’s a feisty one, that grandmother of mine!

Set the cleaned out whole chicken in a 9×12 baking dish, and slosh that whole can of beer all over it.

Next comes the seasoning.  You guys, I’m going to be honest.  I am horrible at measuring.  I was raised on the “eyeball it” method.  I really have not a clue how much of what I put in, I just know by sight/feeling how much to put in if that makes sense.

Her are the spices you will need: salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, Adobo, and a packet of Sazon.  You massage that beautiful concoction all over Mr. Chicken and then you put some pats of butter on it, or under the skin because WHY NOT.

Here is what a good looking soon to be roasted chicken looks like:

rawchickenroast

The intensity of the color directly correlates with how delicious it’s going to be- this is a good one.

Bake that bird at 400F for 1hr 20mins- 1hr 30 mins depending on the size.

For this meal I decided to make a side of roasted corn on the cob.  The supermarket had them on sale 6/$1 (I love summer produce!). Look at that beautiful corn bouquet!

IMG_3492
These corny cobs were seasoned with butter, S&P, garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Trust me, this is an amazing combo for corn seasoning.

I popped my buttered babies in the oven (top rack) when the chicken had about 20 minutes left.

Look how excited they are to become roasted corn cobbies!

IMG_3493

At this point your house smells unbelievable and it is totally normal to begin drooling.

When that timer dings, THIS is what it looks like all done and delicious:

IMG_3504

IMG_3505

The crispy crust that forms on that chicken is something dreams are made of and the corn adds the right amount of sweetness to cut all that savory from the bird.

I usually add a salad and some crusty loaf bread to round out this meal and it makes for some very happy tummies in this house!

The leftovers usually turn into lunch for the next day for the man and I, as well as just enough to make chicken salad (recipe coming soon) and some soup made with bone broth (recipe coming soon) from the leftover bones and cobs! That’s 4ish meals from one chicken- not bad!

Papa’s Roasted Chicken Recipe

1 Whole Chicken (4-5lbs)

1 12oz can of beer

2 tsp of Adobo

1 packet of Sazon

1 tsp Salt

½ tsp Pepper

1 tsp Garlic Powder

½ tsp Onion Powder

3 tbsp. Butter

Preheat oven to 400F.  Clean out chicken and lay on back in 9×12 baking dish. Pour can of beer over chicken, ensuring to add some to chicken cavity. In a bowl mix all ingredients except butter and sprinkle over entire chicken.  Cut up butter and dot along the top of the chicken, or make slits in skin along breast and legs then add pats of butter.

Place in oven on middle rack and roast for 1hr 20 mins to 1hr 30mins depending on size of chicken.  Chicken is cooked when juices run clear.  Let sit for 15mins prior to carving.

Enjoy!

 

Sunday meals are just the best, especially in the summer when we finish it off with popsicles, watermelon and sprinklers in the backyard.

 

What are your favorite Sunday dinner recipes?  I would love to know!

 

Thanks for stopping by, friends!

xoxo

Katie

One thought on “Papa’s Roasted Chicken

Leave a Reply

